Forums » Ask a doctor for free health information

Brief burning sensation in right calf?

• 3 posts
    December 21, 2014 2:18:37 PM PST

For the past 5 months or so, I've been experiencing a strange burning type pain in my right leg. it's on the left side of my calf and seems to be a little below the surface and is localized to one small spot with very little spreading, if any. It's a short burst of pain only when doing certain activities and can't always be replicated. The burst is about 1-2 seconds long and usually happens maybe three times a day; there's no real pattern to it that I can see. I'm a computer programmer so I sit for many hours daily but I'm generally healthy (except for acid reflux, severe anxiety, and a few odd health issues like recurring bronchitis), but I've been checked out many times for my heart and never had any heart or blood related problems. I have no redness, heat, or tenderness anywhere around that area either. I'm 19, 5 foot 11, and 160 pounds so I'm about normal as far as size goes. Is it just my health anxiety or something else to be worried about?

• 1955 posts
    December 21, 2014 2:36:29 PM PST

Legal disclaimer:  we do not have a doctor-patient relationship and we cannot give specific instructions of care to you, but we can give you our best effort to find high-quality information that you can consider. If we are wrong, or you don't like what we say, feel free to leave a message and let us know how we can improve the quality of the service. In addition, we encourage other people in the community to contribute their knowledge to the questions that are asked. 

For example, if you have a rare disease, and had a rare surgery, please simply state "back surgery," and if needed we can explore that further.  If your neighbor or best friend reads this, will be they be able to identify you based on the information given? If yes, please remove the information or change it slightly.